You are here

Mini Competition Summer 2020: Winners
Congratulations to all the winners of the 'mini competition' that we ran during Summer Term 2020, for language learners in Years 10-13. We received 295 entries and are delighted to be able to award book prizes to the winners below, and certificates to all commendees. Thank you to all the teachers who encouraged students to enter.


Entrants to the French strand translated a passage from Albert Camus's novel La Peste.

1st prize Lara Simpson, York College
2nd prize Charlotte Hignett, Keswick School
3rd prize Duoya Li, The King's School Canterbury


Highly Commended

Rashmi Knight, Maidstone Grammar School for Girls
Oscar Blanning, St Paul's School
Sophie Oztoprak, Chelmsford County High School


James Pearne, Balcarras School
Paris Ware-Lane, Brentwood School
Madie Ades, Callywith College
Charlotte Merrylees, Chelmsford County High School
Holly Cobb, Comberton Sixth Form
Sebastian Lawrence, Dr. Challoner's Grammar School
Arron O'Donnell, Enniskillen Royal Grammar School
Michaela Lastovickova, Headington School
Blessing Verrall, Invicta Grammar School
Eva Bailey, John Taylor High School
Shruti Chakraborty, Leicester Grammar School
Maddie Lowe, Longsands Academy
Sebastian Filho, Malvern College
Nandhana Prakash Simi, Plashet School
Isobel Field, Shaftesbury School
Emily Stevenson, St Alban's High School for Girls
Miranda Gibson, Tiffin Girls School
Mac Galatis, University College School
Emily Lock, Wallingford School



Entrants to the German strand could choose from four texts for translation.

Roald Dahl text

1st prize Olivia Scott-Smith, Sevenoaks School
2nd prize Matthew Ainsby, St Paul's School (boys)
3rd prize  Jasmine Cundiff, Altrincham Grammar School for Girls
Charlotte Hignett, Keswick School
Oliver Stuart, St Paul's School


Cruise ships text

1st prize Tomás Mayorga, Wilson’s School
2nd prize Jemima Raphael, Harrogate Ladies' College
3rd prize Manasi Shah, Chelmsford County High School for Girls


Ellena Silipetar, George Abbot School
Jasmine Cundiff, Altrincham Grammar School for Girls
Abigail Dykes, Coombe Girls' School
Olatz Bulson-Roman, Sir William Borlase's Grammar School


Climate change text

1st prize Mariella Jasper, Chelmsford County High School for Girls
2nd prize Jasmine Cundiff, Altrincham Grammar School for Girls
3rd prize Ella-Louise Jain, St Alban's High School for Girls


Ella Davidson, Altrincham Grammar School for Girls
Maria Kirpichnikova, Channing School
Phoebe Timms, Longsands Academy
Katie Collier, Stockport Grammar School


Technology text

1st prize Blaithin Lynch, Mount Lourdes Grammar School
2nd prize Philippa Lantelme, The Fernwood School
3rd prize Holly Cobain, Enniskillen Royal Grammar School


Tom Image, Magdalen College School
Freya Farmer, Queen Elizabeth’s Grammar School
Reuben Bignell, Sir William Borlase’s Grammar School
Freddie Evans, Tonbridge School
Richard Yates, Warwick School
Kitty Davies, Clitheroe Royal Grammar