You are here

New Sedleian Professor of Natural Philosophy

1 February 2019

Professor Jon Keating FRS, the Henry Overton Wills Professor of Mathematics in Bristol, and Chair of the Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research, has been appointed to the Sedleian Professorship of Natural Philosophy in the University of Oxford from 1 September 2019.

The Sedleian Professorship is regarded as the oldest of Oxford's scientific chairs and holders are simultaneously elected to fellowships at Queen's College. Recent holders have included Brooke Benjamin (1979-1995) who did highly influential work in the areas of mathematical analysis and fluid mechanics and, most recently, Sir John Ball (1996-2018), who is distinguished for his work in the mathematical theory of elasticity, materials science, the calculus of variations, and infinite-dimensional dynamical systems.

Professor Keating has wide-ranging interests but is best known for his research in random matrix theory and its applications to quantum chaos, number theory, and the Riemann zeta function.  In November he will become the next President of the London Mathematical Society.

Prof Jon Keating