You are here

The College is run by a Governing Body consisting of the Provost and Fellows. Undergraduate and postgraduate student representatives also attend in non-voting capacity for the discussion of unreserved items.

The Provost is head of the College, and serves as Chairman of the Governing Body. Many Fellows (‘Official Fellows’) are College tutors who also hold permanent university appointments; some (known as ‘Professorial Fellows’) do not engage in undergraduate tuition for the College, but instead hold statutory University Chairs. The Governing Body has a large number of sub-committees, dealing with academic matters, student finance and hardship, admissions, estates and finance, fund-raising, domestic matters, the library, and IT.

The College also has a number of shorter-term academic post-holders, such as Career Development and Research Fellows (whose posts are usually of three years duration), Laming Fellows (holders of one- or two-year research fellowships for those engaged in comparative work) and College Lecturers (holders of fixed-term academic appointments which carry tutorial responsibilities). At any one time, the College also has in residence a number of distinguished academic visitors from around the world. Finally, the College has a number of Honorary, Emeritus and Supernumerary Fellows.

These members of the College are collectively known as the senior members. Details of current senior members – in all of the above categories – are to be found in this part of the website.