You are here

Oxford-Weidenfeld Prize 2016 shortlist announced

26 May 2016

This year’s short list includes eight books from an outstanding entry of nearly 110 titles in translations from 15 different languages.

Once again we have impressive submissions from both larger and smaller publishing houses: Jonathan Cape, Faber & Faber, Istros Books, MacLehose Press, Oneworld, and Bloomsbury. The list contains translations from six languages. 

Read more here:

2016 Shortlist

Paul Vincent and John Irons for 100 Dutch-Language Poems (Holland Park Press)
John Cullen for Kamel Daoud’s The Meursault Investigation (Oneworld)
Stephen Pearl  for Ivan Goncharov’s The Same Old Story (Alma Classics)
Don Bartlett  for Karl Ove Knausgaard’s Dancing in the Dark: My Struggle (Harvill Secker)
Shaun Whiteside for Charles Lewinsky’s Melnitz (Atlantic Books)
Lola M. Rogers for Sofi Oksanen’s When the Doves Disappeared (Atlantic Books)
Philip Roughton for Jón Kalman Stefánsson’s The Heart of Man (MacLehose Press)
Lisa C. Hayden for Eugene Vodolazkin’s Laurus (Oneworld)